Hopping Onto the Sleep Train…

Ever since I’ve been back to work, I haven’t had much time for anything else. Isabella turned 4 months on Father’s Day this year and we just had her check-up today. I LOVE her doctor visits because we get to hear how much she’s growing and my favorite part is when she charts out Isabella’s percentiles. At 4 months, she’s 13lbs, 11 ounces and 26.5″ long. This puts her in the 60th percentile for weight and 97th percentile for length. She’s definitely not the chubba wubba I always thought I would have, but her thighs are still round enough for me to munch on!

I’m not sure if I want to start her on rice cereal yet, but we’re thinking about it. The doctor also suggested that we started sleep training. Our routine is the same every night, but for the next few months, our goal will be to put her down when she’s drowsy so she can learn to fall asleep by herself. Right now, I either rock, read or nurse her to a sleepy state which isn’t bad but she’s encouraging us to break the habit and this will teach her how to sleep on her own. If she starts to get fussy in the middle of the night, the doctor’s advice was to not immediately run to her aid, but to give her a few minutes to settle down. The earlier we practice, the sooner she will sleep through the night and the easier it will be for us in the long run. I’m still feeding her around 2:30am, but I wonder if that’s because I attend to her every whimper. I would never let Isabella “cry it out” so I know that’s not a method for me, but it can me for other families. Her next visit will be around 6 months and it’s true what they say when everyone tells you it goes by much too fast.

4 months

420296_469875369758319_1200757743_n

One thought on “Hopping Onto the Sleep Train…

  1. Dena says:

    oh my goodness, she just could not get anymore precious!! best of luck with the sleep training. i look forward to hearing how it goes & especially what works. xo

Leave a Reply

