Two Weeks Gone By

I can’t believe it’s been 2 weeks already! It was just the other day when my Valentine’s due date came and there was absolutely no sign of a baby coming. I was starting to feel a bit stressed because I knew that if she didn’t come in the next 7 days…I would have to be induced. As we laid in bed, I was telling Ricardo all of my worries and he jokingly massaged my hand telling me that he would induce my pregnancy with acupressure. He had no idea what he was doing, but something worked because I was feeling a little “funny” the next morning at 6am.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but my water was slowly leaking. I waited it out for a bit and convinced him to go to work that morning. By 11:30am, I had a few strong contractions so I called him to come home. As we checked into the hospital, I was convinced that she was going to arrive that night on the 15th, but midnight passed and all the nurses confirmed that she was going to be born on her papa’s birthday! We took a nap for a few hours until I started pushing around 3:30am and she arrived a little over an hour later at 4:57am.

hello isabella

I had a fever when Isabella was delivered so I only saw her for a brief moment before she was whisked away to the NICU while I was in the delivery room. It killed me that I wouldn’t be able to see her for a few hours so Ricardo spent some time with her while I took a nap and then by late afternoon, the nurses allowed me to go see her. For precautionary reasons, she was ordered to stay in the NICU for a week to receive antibiotics and to also treat her jaundice. It never occurred to me and Ricardo that she wouldn’t be coming home with us so that was definitely the hardest part.

We’ve had Isabella at home for 8 days now, but on day 3…Ricardo told me he was bored so I told him that we were packing our bags and heading up to San Luis Obispo for our first road trip. He was a bit nervous, but I was excited! We left last Thursday for the Farmers’ Market and stayed until Saturday. She did great on the drive and I imagine this is only the start of many more adventures to come. I made a few calls and had everyone meet us at Ricardo’s favorite pizza joint for a mini surprise party since we never really had a chance to celebrate his birthday.

happy birthday ricardoNow that we’re home and it’s a lazy Sunday, I have one more day with Ricardo until he goes back to work tomorrow. Hmm…time to start making more plans with my little mama!

Leave a Reply

