Freezing Soups

Throughout my pregnancy, I haven’t had much of any crazy cravings, but there were some things I especially loved like Special K Red Berries. I had this for about 2 weeks straight for breakfast and lunch! Peanut butter, soups, and desserts have also topped the list. Since we don’t have much family and friends in the area, I plan on freezing a few meals ahead of time so we don’t end up starving or ordering in takeout too much. Some recipes on my list include:

  • Poblano Corn Lasagna Squares
  • Chicken Enchilada Casserole Squares
  • Baked Ziti Squares
  • White Bean & Ham Shank Cups
  • Macaroni & Cheese Wedges

Ricardo can then just steam veggies or make a side salad to go with these easy meals. We cook dinner every night, but I imagine that won’t be the case when baby arrives so frozen entrees should offset the nights where I’m unable to cook. I had some extra ham shanks left over from a split pea soup the other week so I decided to try a white bean soup. Someone suggested freezing soups in silicone muffin pans on pinterest and I just think it’s the most genius idea ever! I wrapped them all up individually and placed them inside a large ziploc bag. Reheating should be fairly simple and with a dash of tabasco, we’ve got yummy soup in no time! If you have any delicious freeze ahead recipes, please send them my way. I’d love to try them out!

IMG_7898

2 thoughts on “Freezing Soups

  1. Kristin says:

    Hi Angelique!
    Saw these on pinterest awhile back and have them saved 🙂

    http://www.mamaandbabylove.com/category/slow-cooker/
    http://www.annies-eats.com/2009/05/11/meals-for-new-parents/
    http://www.dwellonjoy.com/2012/02/feeding-new-moms.html

    The crock pot is awesome for when you just have a baby…easy to throw in stuff while baby is napping. Don’t forget to have breakfast stuff on hand too. I totally forgot about breakfast when I had my daughter and ended up eating christmas cookies every morning :/ not good!

    Hope these help!
    -Kristin

    • Angelique says:

      Thanks so much Kristin for the awesome links….love, love, love!! Great tip about breakfast too – I’ll definitely have to keep that in mind or yes, I’ll end up eating cookies at 7am too :)!!

Leave a Reply

