Always In Our Hearts

To know Ginger was to truly love her. Ginger came to us in early August and when I met her, I was a smitten kitten. Her bulldog affections were out of this world…we were constantly smothered with hugs and kisses by this little one. Her and I shared a kindred spirit. I was just a few weeks along in my pregnancy when Ginger came into our lives and I learned that she had been a mama twice…so we had some mama vibes going on. On days that I wasn’t feeling too well, I looked to her because I knew she was the only one in the house that understood me.

Ginger’s family had recently lost their home and was no longer able to care for her. While under their care, she had never been fixed and mated twice with their pitbull. When we took her home that night, we gave her a bath and the water ran black and brown for what seemed like forever. Even as I dried her off, our towel was filthy, but she would never even know her own condition. She was just happy to be in a new home and two days later…I took her for her first spaw day complete with a blueberry facial. She came out looking brand spankin’ new.

Ginger unexpectedly passed away in our home Friday night in her sleep. All signs point to a bad heart so it could have been congestive heart failure. She was 7 years old, a senior bully in many ways, but she had a heart of gold. There are no words to describe the grief of of losing our little Gingerbread…the sadness comes in waves throughout the day so I have to remind myself that she is now in a much better place. Ricardo is taking it pretty hard because if you understood his love for all our bulldogs, then you would know he would do anything for them. Every morning, he would tell us all how much he loved us equally – there was not one he loved more or less. You never understand the true feeling of loss until it’s one of your own. I’ve gone through my entire life never been to a funeral which I count as a blessing in many ways. I’ve never lost someone close and Ginger is truly the first loved one that I’ve ever lost. It’s hard to believe that she’s just no longer here.

She was recently spayed and was very much ready for adoption. I had asked Ricardo every day if we could keep her permanently because I couldn’t bear the thought of letting her go. Not long after I found out we were having a girl, I sent him this photo and told him we had to keep her now, because who else would wear a tutu…surely not Rambo.

Just the other week, we gathered everyone in bed and Ricardo read Curious George to baby in the belly. When he was finished, we both looked up and Ginger and Rambo were snoring away at the foot of our bed…it was a tight squeeze that night, but we let her sleep with us because she usually took her spot on the couch. I’ll miss finding her in our bed sheets while I got out of the shower, she always managed to sneak in after Ricardo left for work climbing up the pet steps all by herself. She had the cutest wiggly butt and often times pushed Rambo ouf the way to get our attention. She was a charmer for sure…even had two motor cops stopped at a red light sending her smooches while she sat in the backseat for a car ride last week. She leaves behind her favorite Hello Kitty blanket, which I can’t seem to part with at this time.

When you don’t have children yet, your pets are truly your babies. They completely rely on you for their well being and care. They offer you nothing but unconditional love so how can you not naturally give that back to them in return. I had already pictured all of us celebrating Rambo’s birthday this month and including her in our holiday photos this year. She was a keeper, which was why I was procrastinating on finishing her adoption bio. We can only hope that she understood how much she was truly loved and that we will always have her in our hearts. I’m going to miss most those big brown eyes and bulldog kisses that never stopped once they started coming. A part of me really wasn’t ready to let her go, but it seems like a part of her was ready and she did the letting go for both of us. Ginger, you’ll always be our little mama!

2 thoughts on “Always In Our Hearts

  1. Marti-SCBR volunteer says:

    she was truly a special bully girl, I’m so happy she knew so much love at the end of her life. You are both bulldog angels.

  2. Jenny Smith says:

    so sorry for you both Angelique!!

Leave a Reply

