Words that Begin with “ch”…

I have a feeling now I know why my brother waited to reveal the baby’s name. He kept it a secret from everyone throughout Eachan’s entire pregnancy and rightly so because he probably didn’t want it tainted by other people’s reactions. I’ve seen some weird ones already and why do people  make comments that aren’t so nice? And do they not know when they have a stupid look on their face? I totally get it…Charis isn’t on the 2010 top 100 list of popular baby girl names, but that’s okay. She’ll be unique and special…and might have to correct the starbucks barista when he calls for her name, but I think she’ll be just fine. Plus…she can always go by Bella as her alias for her caffeine fix…don’t we all have a secret alias name?

Some have even asked me…what other words start with a “ch” but is pronounced with a “k” sound. Well…there are quite a few:

chromosome
chorus
chameleon
chamomile
chaos
chaotic
character
characteristic
charisma
chemical
chemist
chemistry
chemotherapy
choir
chiropractor
chlorine
chloride
cholera
cholesterol
choral
chord
choreograph
Christ
choreography
Christian
Christmas
chrysanthemum

5 thoughts on “Words that Begin with “ch”…

  1. meg says:

    I’m sorry I might be that person who unknowingly gave a strange look.

  2. Jasmin says:

    I really really love that name. It’s actually my niece’s name… cool coincidence because it is a rare name. Ask Joel.. Charis is my fav!

  3. diep says:

    will there be a vietnamese name or a nickname? I imagine that Charis is pretty hard for someone with a vietnamese accent 🙂

  4. diep says:

    It’s hard for the parentals to not have a Vietnamese name to call their grandkids by. She is probably making one up as we speak. to be honest– I might be ricardo and stutter. I can be such a FOB with new words. (thus my skittishness with new words and foreign languages)

  5. Anh Truong says:

    🙂 Charis, learn it!

Leave a Reply

