Where to Stay, What to Eat, and Things to Do…NYC

I LOVE traveling with Ricardo…I really do, but boy is he high maintenance. I’ve had my share of long train rides, sleeping in airports, and weird hostels. He just can’t stand red eyes, crowds, airports, and long lines. Room upgrades and the mini bar are his specialties. Nonetheless, keeping him on the happy side is pretty easy…all you have to do is feed him. To avoid the grumps…I travel with granola bars, sweets, salty snacks…you name it…I’ve got it. Ric’s got some pretty big midterms tomorrow night and then after that…we’re OFF to The Big Apple! Does this sound familiar? Yes…kinda like when we left for our honeymoon after his summer finals. {insert deep breath here} It will all be over very soon!

Where to Stay:
I somehow managed to book a room at The Paramount Hotel right smack in midtown Manhattan for $107 a night (I used a lot of coupons for this one..trust me.) I can’t believe how expensive hotels are in New York City. But really…this is all about LOCATION. It’s perfect for Ricardo’s first time in the city and I hear the rooms are small, but I think we’ll be okay.

Lobby

What to Eat:
We’re pretty obsessed with The Food Network & Travel Channel so it’s no surprise I’ve been keeping track of all our must eats in the city…quite unlikely that we’ll get to them all, but we will definitely try.

Corn | Cafe Habana

Halal Cart | 53rd & 6th

Things to Do:

I hear the Top of the Rock is even better than the Empire State Building:

The Highline was also recommended:

Bike Ride Central Park:

Maybe take an NBC studio tour:

The Sony Wonder Technology Lab is free, but I didn’t know you needed to make reservations. We luckily scored two tickets for Sunday.

Must Visit Museums:

The Guggenheim

The Guggenheim

American Museum of Natural History

American Museum of Natural History

Any tips before we take off? I’d LOVE to hear them…

3 thoughts on “Where to Stay, What to Eat, and Things to Do…NYC

  1. Karen says:

    Oh man! There are so many good places to eat here! You’ve picked some good ones. How about Joe Shanghai? We just tried Momofuku Milk Bar for dessert and if Ric likes Ramen I have a couple of places that I just sampled with the girls. You would like venturing out into Williamsburg and eating at Marlow and Sons. I can’t wait until you’re here. You’re going to have so much fun.

  2. Melissa says:

    OMG. The corn @ Cafe Habana is soooooo good & the Museum of Natural History is one of my faves. There’s also tons of great street food like the gyros and chicken n rice! Have a blast!

  3. jenny smith says:

    my mom and i met in nyc last february for a girls weekend and had a great day at the met (go on a weekday if you can). you may also want to do a carriage ride through central park. that park is BIG and you may be cold on a bike. i have done that twice and neither time regretted it. i also loved just going into the markets (zabars or the like) and getting food. have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

