A Pizza My Heart!

Yay! It’s Ric’s birthday today and I’ve had his gift planned out for weeks. He’s turning 27 and I think that sounds like just a wonderful age. No longer too young, but not too old either. Did you get my hint from yesterday’s post? Yes…it’s true, I’m taking him to New York City!! I made him a fun boarding pass because he probably won’t believe that we’re actually going…

Ric LOVES pizza…between the Chicago Deep Dish and New York Thin Crust…he’s not sure which one would be his favorite since he’s never had authentic world famous pizza before from either cities. The Food Network did a “Pizza Wars” special a few weeks ago on everything pizza and when he started to salivate…I knew I had the PERRRRFECT plan for the most amazing birthday gift EVER! Okay…maybe not ever, but you know what I’m sayin’ 🙂

I special ordered two pies from Gino’s East all the way from Chicago, famous for their deep dish pizza for his birthday dinner tonight. I know it won’t be the same, but this was my first stop when I visited The Windy City years ago and it’s definitely a must try for any pizza lover. Note to self…one must have “That’s Amore” playing in the background when baking pizza at all times…“When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, That’s amore”

I made a pizza pinwheel with two circles and a brad in the center so it spins beautifully. The little poem I wrote inside reveals a surprise trip to New York City. We’ll be visiting the last week of March…his last college Spring Break (teardrops). To read the poem…feel free to click on the pizza wheel below.

I’m really SUPER excited for this pizza tour…and I hear its the best! We’re booked and ready to go….it was voted a TOP 10 U.S. Tour on Trip Advisor:

Ric’s really been dying to attend a UFC fight…probably for years now. I can’t stand the blood and punching too much, but I sold his textbooks online to get him tickets for UFC 111 at the Prudential Center in New Jersey…a short train ride from NYC. Thanks Robin for helping me with all the questions I had…you’re the best:

There you have it…a trip to NYC in the works, pizza from Chicago (hopefully from NY too) and tickets to a UFC fight. We’ll do lots of sightseeing, eating, and even maybe a day trip to Philly! We usually don’t celebrate birthdays so grand, but Ric’s never gone on a vacation during Spring Break before. Unbelievable isn’t it?…ahh…how I miss you Mexico! He always works full time so it’s kind of his last hoo-rah before school ends and I think he completely deserves it. Have any NYC tips? I’d LOVE to hear them…

3 thoughts on “A Pizza My Heart!

  1. Melissa says:

    another thumbs up on another planning success. you are such a good wifey – i need to get on it!

  2. aLi. says:

    lovin’ the pie poem. mmmmmm yeah. how long are you going for?

  3. […] hearing about Scott’s Pizza Tours from my friend, Ang, I quickly agreed to the walking tour when Katy suggested it.  Ang had described the tour with so […]

Leave a Reply

