Self Defense & Staying Fit

As with every year…it seems like fitness goals are always at the top of our list for our New Years Resolution. I know Ric’s been wanting to get back into the gym lately…especially with school being on holiday break for the next month. I also know he’s been wanting to try something new like MMA or kickboxing. It just so happens that the National Krav Maga Training Center (Combat 360) is in Long Beach so I signed us both up for an intro class last week. If you’re not familiar with Krav Maga, their website describes it as:

“Krav Maga is the official hand-to-hand combat system of the Israeli Defense Forces. It’s also the preferred system for U.S. Military and law enforcement personnel. Krav Maga is not a traditional martial art. No katas. No rituals. No nonsense.”

Can I just say…it was AWESOME TO THE MAX! I learned some really neat techniques and they were patient and helpful…and totally knew what they were doing. I really want this to be Ricardo’s thing so though I’m tempted to join…I think I’ll stick to my pilates studio for awhile and he can kick butt, learn self defense, get fit, and sweat himself to death here all on his own. It was my Christmas gift to him…an unlimited access membership that includes kickboxing, strike labs, Krav Maga classes, and crossfit training. It’s a little more exciting than the gym and I’m just happy he found something to focus on other than school for a change. Not that focusing on school is a bad thing…I just know it gets old when that’s all you think about.

What really got me thinking was the whole self defense aspects of it. The woman who lead our intro class last night was so kick a$$! I really liked learning how to get out of a choke hold and the thought of a knee to an assailant’s groin is…how do I put it…so GRATIFYING! So…for my own protection…I might take a few classes here and there for self defense. I like how she talked about being aware of your surrounding and self defense starts before a hand is even laid on you. It starts when someone approaches your comfort zone and what you can do to protect yourself.

p.s. I hope you had a MERRY Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Self Defense & Staying Fit

  1. meg says:

    way to go!!!

  2. Melissa says:

    hey i did a krav maga class in the city! it’s a little intimidating at first, but once you start doing it – it’s kinda funny/fun. can’t wait to hear about your experience.

Leave a Reply

