A Beautiful Bloom…Manzanita Floral Delivers

Lawren really came through on our wedding day flowers….look at my beautiful bouquet she snapped! Lawren was finishing up her last year at Cal Poly studying Landscape Architect when we hired her and I never underestimated her ability and talent. She had tons of experience, was knowledgable about her love for all things floral and above all…she listened to my vision and worked with someone who really knew very little about flowers.

We actually corresponded back and forth up until the week before our wedding and she was wonderful. At the very last minute…I decided I wanted football mums (large bloom in the center below). I sent her a  photo and she replied…unfortunately…these mums don’t come naturally pink. To my horror…they were TINTED. Who knew a florist would do such a thing…it seemed so unnatural to do something like that to something so…well…natural! She was confident that it could be done and I’m all for a good science experiment so I really had no idea if they would work until I saw the flowers in all their glory….

CottonCandy

She did an amazing job not only on our bouquets, but also on our arbor and centerpieces. I had been collecting recycled glass bottles from Pier 1 and was afraid the necks were too small for a nice arrangement. Lawren made them look like they were meant to burst out of the bottles in full bloom with so much life. I wanted simple, but simple doesn’t have to be plain and boring. Less really can be so much more! A florist who not only delivered on my vision, but gave me such a sweet surprise. Thanks Lawren!! Without further ado…photos from Jenny.

navarro2189

best photos

*Our arrangements included pink hydrangea and garden roses, fuchsia standard roses and dahlias, “pink” football mums, with touches of green kermit mums, hypericum berries, and gray dusty miller foliage.

In honor of where Ricardo and I met (a retirement community for active senior citizens) and love for the elderly, we donated all of our flowers to local hospitals and retirement homes in San Luis Obispo the day after. It was our way of giving back and we hope our wedding day flowers brought a smile to some folks who sometimes need a lift.

Leave a Reply

