memorial weekend '08

Memorial Weekend started for us right after work on Friday. Ric had just finished 2 back to back finals on Thursday, pulled a few all nighters last week so he was pretty relieved when Friday came. All he wanted to do was get home. We were planning to go to a bar to watch Game 2 (Lakers vs. Spurs) and relax. Little did he know…when he picked me up, I had a sign for him. On one side, I wrote mushy remarks about how proud I was of him for his academic accomplishments this year…and on the other side? I made him a poster!! No worries, I did not take it to the game. 

It’s funny…because there’s this funny frozen face he makes every time he’s surprised. I guess because he’s really surprised. But then he starts to stutter a little, and then he’s confused because he doesn’t really know what’s going on, and then he gets sad because he thinks I’m joking….and then he’s finally excited. Ahh….its exhausting really to go through all those feelings in a 30 second time frame.

I thought we were totally going to be late because we left Irvine around 3:30 and I thought the game started at 7:00, but it actually started at 6:00. We made it at 5:30 and all was wonderful! Flea from Red Hot Chilli played the anthem on his trumpet and he got all jazzy with it! He received a standing ovation. We saw the Beckhams and the crowd went wild. Sylvester Stallone and Denzel Washington were also there. And we even got to see the Jabbawockeez perform for the half time show. Along with a good game, it’s really just entertaining to be at a Lakers game. I have to admit, I’ve enjoyed every game we’ve been to. Afterwards, we headed to Pinks Famous Hot Dogs in hopes of catching some more stars, but we only came away with hot dogs.

 

That was our Friday night! Saturday morning started with a blood donation appointment with the Red Cross. From there, we headed over to Redondo Beach to meet up with some friends for Fiesta Hermosa, saw Indiana Jones and had dinner at PF Changs. We relaxed on Sunday and met up with some more friends on Monday for a big ole Memoral Day BBQ. After a game of Cranium and playing with babies, we called it a night and headed home. I don’t know where the weekend went, but I’m so sad it’s over!

One thought on “memorial weekend '08

  1. MELI MEL says:

    you’re adorable and so sweet Angie! i showed this to Craig because, as a Laker fan, I know he’d LOVE that – unfortunately, I don’t have the funds to support his Laker Love.

Leave a Reply

