Twenty things to do…

I just finished a book called “The Next Thing On My List.” I didn’t think I would like at first, but I soon found it charming and thoughtful. To get to the point…it’s about two girls who meet at a weight watchers clinic and June offers to give Marissa a ride home. Barely knowing each other, they get into June’s car and while driving, Marissa tells June about a very simple and delicious taco soup recipe. As she unbuckles her seatbelt to reach behind the backseat for her purse, a dresser comes off of a truck in front of them and June swerves to avoid the flying furniture, but not so lucky for Marissa, she ends up flying out of the car and passes away.

June finds a list that flew out of Marissa’s purse and it listed 20 things she wanted to do before she turned 25. Feeling a bit responsible, June felt compelled to finish the list. I love the irony in certain parts of the book and it’s definitely a much more light hearted read than it sounds. Good for a day laying out on the beach…but it got me thinking. I know some people who have a list, but I don’t have one. I mean there are things I know I want to do..but I don’t have a physical list where I cross things off. I have a friend who’s goal is to visit a different state every year. Ric made a list for us within the first few months we were dating and we’re still trying to finish it 3+ years later. Posted Below:

So as you can see…we’ve gone to vegas, but we didn’t make it to the Grand Canyon so that one can’t be checked off. We’ve gone kayaking, but we haven’t gone jet skiing, so that one can’t be checked off either! And…I would check off Lion King Show because I think we meant a broadway show and we saw Wicked…but again, I wanted to honor the list so I can’t check it off until we see the Lion King. Ahh…so many things to do still. That’s one bright list isn’t it? What was Ricardo thinking…he must have still been trying to woo me.

The last time I made a real list for myself was my senior year in high school with my friend melissa and I can’t remember much, but I do remember taking pictures with firefighters wearing their gear and pretending we were riding on their trucks. I even rode on a Harley and I think she bought one grape at the grocery store and she had the receipt to prove it? I can’t remember it quite clearly, but we did things to keep our last year in high school all the more exciting…and honestly…it was!

So…the book gave me great inspiration! I turn 25 this year and what better way to celebrate by having a list and finishing it too. You would think it would be easy to come up with 20 things…but it’s actually pretty hard. Stay tuned for my list and if you have any suggestions, feel free to offer them up! I’ll take all the help I can get!

And my list has begun:

  1. Try caviar
  2. Read one classic novel (ie. Dickens, Hemmingway, etc.); I’ve chosen Jane Austen’s: Pride and Prejudice
  3. Learn French (as much as I can)
  4. Volunteer for a good cause
  5. Indulge in a spa treatment
  6. Donate blood
  7. Watch a sunrise
  8. Buy a homeless person a meal
  9. Start a savings account for a young relative
  10. Test drive a Ferrari (but Ricardo will have to be the driver)
  11. Do something nice for someone anonymously
  12. Try Pink’s Hot Dogs after seeing it on the Food Network
  13. Learn refusal skills
  14. Stick to a summer fitness class (abs and strength training at the YMCA)
  15. Attend a show taping in Los Angeles
  16. Watch a movie in a cemetery (Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
  17. Attend to a beach clean up

 

Leave a Reply

